Sena to announce its stand on NDA prez nominee tomorrow

Hours after the name was announced in New Delhi by BJP President Amit Shah, he spoke to Shiv Sena President Uddhav Thackeray and informed about the decision.

Keeping up the suspense, NDA ally Shiv Sena today said party chief Uddhav Thackeray will convene a meeting of Sena leaders to decide on supporting the ruling alliance's choice for president.

Further giving her opinion over Presidential Elections, Mayawati stated that the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) should have selected a name from a non-political background which would have been better. "Uddhavji told him that he will convene a meeting of the party leaders to arrive at a decision and convey our answer to him in one or two days", he said.

The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) on Tuesday said Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo Mayawati's slight opposition to Bihar Governor Ramnath Kovind's nomination as presidential candidate is due to his affiliation with the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS). Kovind is likely to file his papers on June 23, Shah said in Delhi after a almost two-hour meeting of the BJP Parliamentary Board.

Suspect in London van attack identified as Darren Osborne
The imam of Muslim Welfare House - which is also a community centre - said a passing police van was flagged down after the attack. The incident comes at a time when emotions are high in England, where there have been several recent terrorist attacks.

"I hope all will agree to the name", he said at a press conference. "The office of President is a key post".

"Don't feel you will always win. things are changing", he warned the BJP, adding that farmers anger would lead to it being defeated if snap elections were called. The candidate should be someone who would be beneficial for the country. BJP chief Amit Shah hurled some harsh truths at Uddhav when the two met at Matoshree on Sunday.

"The choice of the presidential nominee should be in the larger interest of the entire country".

The Board members will be briefed about the consultation undertaken by a three-member party committee with allies and opposition parties. Neelam Sanjiva Reddy was the only President who was elected unopposed.

Latest News