Opposition MLAs likely to vote for BJP presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind

Presidential poll How India has chosen its Presidents in the past

Opposition MLAs likely to vote for BJP presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind

Ahead of voting, UPA chairperson and Congress president Sonia Gandhi said the presidential election demands a "vote of conscience" as it represents a clash of ideas and conflict of disparate values.

In a setback for the Opposition, the Nitish Kumar-led Janata Dal (United) has said it will support Ram Nath Kovind.

National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate Ram Nath Kovind has a clear edge in the electoral college over the opposition nominee Meira Kumar.

Addressing the representatives assembled at the CM's residence, Kovind enumerated his priorities if he becomes president of the India.

Of the 81 state legislators, 80 have cast their votes in the premises of the Jharkhand assembly where the polling is underway.

NVIDIA Corporation (NVDA) Short Interest Update
The stock of EXACT Sciences Corporation (NASDAQ:EXAS) has "Buy" rating given on Wednesday, February 22 by Roth Capital. On average, equities analysts predict that NVIDIA Corporation will post $3.09 earnings per share for the current year.

The Voting for the Presidential Elections is now on in the Parliament and the State Assemblies. Apart from these legislators, MPs, 23 from BJP, 18 from Sena and one MP from Swabhimani Paksh, will vote for the BJP's nominated candidate.

He said that they should use the opportunity to take up important issues facing the country, a leader who attended the meeting said.

The 71-year-old Dalit leader has been serving as the Governor of Bihar since August 2015. The votes would be counted and results would be announced on July 20. Before giving his vote, the Prime Minister addressed the media outside the Parliament and said the upcoming Monsoon session brings "hope".

The poll panel has also specifically asked everyone to use only violet ink to cast votes.

In the 2012 elections, Pranab Mukherjee garnered 7,13,763 votes, while Pratibha Patil secured 6,38,116 votes in the previous polls in 2007. Use of any other ink might lead to disqualification of the vote. The country's 14th President will assume office at Rashtrapati Bhavan on July 25. It has also warned against any whip or directive by political parties to their members to vote in favour of any particular candidate.

Latest News