OU's Okoronkwo named to Butkus Award watch list

FSU athletics

FSU athletics

The watch list was compiled by a panel of college football experts based on a combination of 2016 statistics, career performance, SID recommendations and expectations heading into the 2017 season.

Mike McCray, the senior linebacker from OH, is one of 51 to have his name included in the Butkus Award watch list released Monday.

Texas Longhorns junior linebacker Malik Jefferson's name has been added to yet another preseason watch list.

Thomas was previously named to the Bednarik Award watch list as the nation's top defensive player and is FSU's leading returning tackler with 77 in 2016.

Man blames Tesla Autopilot feature for Minnesota crash
If drivers continuously ignore safety warnings now, the auto will disable autopilot until the next time the vehicle is started. His SUV was parked in his garage when it unexpectedly crashed into his living room, injuring him and destroying walls.

Named after Louisville native Hornung, the award has been given annually to the most versatile player in college football since 2010. The award, given to the nation's best linebacker, is presented by the Butkus Foundation.

Alabama's Reuben Foster - a first-round selection of the San Francisco 49ers - won the award a year ago. Johnson (2003) and Sergio Kindle (2009) are the only other Longhorns to be named finalists.

Auburn's Rudy Ford was part of the 2016 Hornung Award preseason watch list for his versatility in the defensive backfield and on special teams. That included 11 tackles for loss, a sack and a forced fumble. This will be The Paul Hornung Award's second year as an associate member of the prestigious National College Football Awards Association. In addition, he was a semifinalist for the Butkus Award. He finished the season with 51 total tackles (25 solo, 26 assisted), nine tackles for loss, and five sacks. The award was first presented in 1985.

Latest News