Premier John Horgan, NDP cabinet get down to work

Forests Minister Doug Donaldson and Premier John Horgan speak after their first cabinet meeting in Victoria July 19

Forests Minister Doug Donaldson and Premier John Horgan speak after their first cabinet meeting in Victoria July 19

At a news conference at Government House Tuesday after being sworn in along with a 22-member NDP cabinet, Horgan said he must then prepare for a visit to Prime Minister Justin Trudeau in Ottawa and then a trip to Washington D.C. The U.S. visit is to make good on a campaign pledge to personally assist in negotiations for a new softwood lumber trade agreement.

Carole James (Victoria-Beacon Hill) has been appointed as finance minister and deputy premier.

The minister is Judy Darcy, former health critic and president of the Hospital Employees' Union.

The only two Vancouver NDP MLAs left out of cabinet also happen to be the only two openly LGBT MLAs from the city: Spencer Chandra Herbert (Vancouver-West End) and Mable Elmore (Vancouver-Kensington).

Bruce Ralston, Jobs, Trade and Technology. Other Surrey MLAs in cabinet are Jinny Sims (Surrey-Panorama) as the minister of citizens' services and Harry Bains (Surrey-Newton) as the minister of labour.

Selina Robinson, Municipal Affairs and Housing.

Katrina Chen, minister of state for childcare.

Minister of Advanced Education, Skills and Training - Hon.

Minister of Public Safety and Solicitor General - Hon.

Maisie Williams reveals her idea of Game Of Thrones ending
Hurry Sam, you have a world to save and frankly, we can't handle too many more of your "day in the life" snippets anyway. Without a doubt, her grandpa, the late Lord Commander of the Night's Watch, Ser Jeor Mormont, would be very proud.

Important resource portfolios were given to MLAs outside of the Lower Mainland and Vancouver Island.

Michelle Mungall, Energy, Mines & Petroleum Resources.

Minister of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations, and Rural Development - Hon.

Katrine Conroy, Children & Family Development.

New ministries include the ministry of Indigenous relations and reconciliation led by Scott Fraser (Alberni-Pacific Rim) and the ministry of mental health and addictions, which will be overseen by Judy Darcy (New Westminster).

The new minister of tourism, arts and culture is Lisa Beare (Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows).

Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure - Hon. North Vancouver-Lonsdale NDP MLA Bowinn Ma has been named parliamentary secretary for TransLInk.

Horgan shut the City of Nanaimo out of his cabinet.

The speaker has still not been named but it could be Raj Chouhan (Burnaby-Edmonds), who served as the deputy speaker prior to the election.

Latest News