Bangladesh drop batsmen Mominul Haque, Mahmudullah Riyad for Australia Test

Shafiul Islam's injury during the last season of BPL has kept him out of action since

Shafiul Islam's injury during the last season of BPL has kept him out of action since

With the duo having been dropped, Bangladesh have recalled all-rounder Nasir Hossain, who last played a Test match in August 2015.

Bangladesh on Saturday dropped batsmen Mominul Haque and Mahmudullah Riyad from their 14-man squad for the first Test against Australia beginning in Dhaka on August 27.

He said that the diminutive right-hander could not make it to the squad because of his poor batting performance for the last one year. It is not the end of his career because he is dropped for the first Test. Mominul's form in the last two Tests was given as a reason too.

Mominul and Mahmudullah were part of Bangladesh's squad during their last series in Sri Lanka, though they did not play the final Test in Colombo, which Bangladesh won by four wickets to finish the two-match series 1-1.

Hathurusingha informed that Nasir was picked as a like-for-like back-up for Mosaddek Hossain, who is suffering from an eye infection.

Intel CEO quits Trump's advisory council, leaving Dell as only tech company
The latest defector, Alliance for American Manufacturing President Scott Paul , left the council with the mildest statement. Soon after Plank announced his resignation, Krzanich did the same, also through Twitter and with a public statement.

Subashis Roy and Rubel Hossain, who were in the Test side during the Sri Lanka series, have also been omitted.

Australia arrived in Dhaka on Friday amid tight security for their first Test series in Bangladesh since Ricky Ponting's team visited in 2006, six years after the hosts were granted Test status. They were due to play two Tests in Bangladesh in October 2015 but the tour was cancelled amid security fears after a wave of attacks by Islamist extremists in the Muslim-majority nation. "We just needed to do it for little bit longer, and consistently", Smith said.

Bangladesh have never beaten Australia at Test level.

BANGLADESH: Mushfiqur Rahim (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Taijul Islam, Mehedi Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Mosaddek Hossain, Nasir Hossain, Shafiul Islam.

Latest News